Sunday, June 23, 2024

Ladakh Constituency Prepares for Lok Sabha Elections

The Ladakh parliamentary constituency, the largest in India by area, will vote on May 20 for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. This election marks the first major contest in Ladakh since it became a Union Territory in 2019.

Originally, the contest was between the BJP and the Congress. However, an alliance of local groups fielded an Independent candidate, creating a three-way race. The BJP dropped its sitting MP, Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, and nominated Tashi Gyalson. The Congress nominated Tsering Namgyal.

The Kargil Democratic Alliance (KDA) entered the fray with Haji Haneefa Jan, the Kargil district president of the National Conference (NC). Ladakh has seen protests over demands for statehood and constitutional protections. These included a 66-day hunger strike that ended recently.

This seat has over 1.84 lakh voters, with a majority in the Muslim-dominated Kargil district and the remainder in Leh district.

Also read: Sonali Bendre reveals she has been a victim of sensationalism

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Time On air Program Name
6.00 a.m Ravi Shankar  yoga guru, a spiritual leader
6:30 a.m Guru Bani
7:00 a.m Paigam E Noor   
7:30 a.m News center
7:30 a.m Punjabi news
8:30 a.m Salam Jammu Kashmir  
11:00 a.m National News Hindi
11:30 a.m Urdu khabar Nama
12:00 p.m Hindu news ( National )
12:30 p.m Hindi news (Jammu Kashmir  )
1:00 p.m Debate with Sanam
2:30 p.m Urdu khabar National
3:30 p.m Jammu Kashmir News
4:00 p.m Special report from Srinagar
4:30 p.m Kashmire News
5:00 p.m 5 ka punch
5:40 p.m Ground report from JK
6:00 p.m 6PM News  Urdu
6:30 p.m Ladakh special
7:00 p.m Kashmir News
7:30 p.m News Centre
7:30 p.m News Centre
8:00 p.m Urdu khabar namaJKspecial
8:30 p.m Mahasangram Debate show
9:00 p.m Kashmir e news
9:30 p.m ABB TAK 
10:30 p.m Hindi news National
11:00 p.m Dogri News
11:30 p.m National update