PM Modi Sworn in as Member of Parliament, Joined by Newly Elected MPs


Prime Minister Narendra Modi was sworn in as a Member of Parliament for the third time as the inaugural session of the 18th Lok Sabha kicked off on Monday, June 24. Newly elected MPs also took oath during the first sitting of Parliament since the Lok Sabha elections.

A resurgent Opposition is gearing up to challenge the NDA government on several fronts. Buoyed by its increased numbers, the Opposition is expected to be combative, focusing on issues such as alleged irregularities in the NEET-UG and NET exams, the relocation of statues within the Parliament building complex.The session began with President Droupadi Murmu administering the oath to BJP’s Bhartruhari Mahtab as the pro tem Speaker. Mahtab then called upon Prime Minister Narendra Modi to take oath as a member of the House, followed by the oath-taking ceremony for other newly elected MPs.

The Opposition has slammed Mahtab’s appointment, claiming that Congress’s Kodikunnil Suresh, an eight-term Lok Sabha MP, was overlooked by the government. Opposition has accused the government of flouting conventions and disregarding Suresh’s seniority.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju addressed concerns over the appointment, stating, “I met DMK Parliamentary Party leader TR Baalu. Everyone agrees that pro tem Speaker has never been an issue in the history of the Indian Parliament and the appointment of pro tem Speaker is basically to administer oath to the newly elected members and help in the election of the new Speaker.”

Ahead of today’s session, Rijiju welcomed the new lawmakers, stating, “The First Session of 18th Lok Sabha begins today, the 24th June, 2024. I welcome all the new elected hon’ble members. I shall be always available to assist the members as Minister of Parliamentary Affairs. I’m positively looking forward for co-ordination to run the house.” Congress leader Jairam Ramesh replied, “Actions will speak louder than words Mr. Minister. Walk the talk.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here